History of Mt. Vernon United Methodist Church
Mount Vernon Church was built in the year
1906 on land donated by Rufus Bays. Trees were dragged out of
Clinch Mountain to Bill Vermillion’s to be sawn into lumber.
There is not a family in Maces Springs (a
section of Hiltons, Virginia) who didn’t help in some way with
the building of the Church.
A few of the older generations
were: Squire Delany; John Neal; Rufus Bays; Mollie and Robert
Carter; Charlie, Will, Flanders and Flint Bays; Crockett Vicars;
Charlie Vermillion; Ike Dennison; John Moore, Ingle Barker, the
Harper's; the Hensley's; the Hilton's; the Shaffer's, and many
others. The women cooked and even children did their part.
The first service in the church was the
third Sunday in October 1906.
The first pastor was Baker Leonard.
The first church member was Zura
Vicars. She was blind and had to be led in and out of the
church. She came in shouting and left the same way. She
loved the Lord!
The first burial was for Freddie Fugate.
Five generations of Carters have attended
this beautiful sacred spot. They came to be saved, join the
church, marry, or have their babies christened and last of all to be
buried. This quiet peaceful spot nestled among the tall pines on
a lonesome hill.
The church has touched the lives of all
who have ever lived here in Poor Valley. Even strangers who visit
A.P. Carter’s grave are touched by its beauty. It is a
cornerstone of the valley. It is a place to go to worship, pray
and have fellowship with your neighbors on Sundays.
join us in our worship services and feel the history and love in our